Head to head

Speak vs Khanmigo

Speak (Speak) and Khanmigo (Khan Academy) both sit in Education. Khanmigo is the cheaper entry point at Free for teachers. Paid monthly or annual subscription required for parents and learners (pricing not specified).. Khanmigo shipped more tracked changes in the last 30 days (14 vs 1). Every value below comes from the latest crawl of the vendors' own pages.

AttributeSpeak

Speak

Khanmigo

Khan Academy

SegmentEducationEducation
VersionSpeak appGPT-4 integration
Entry costFree tier · from $20/moFree for teachers. Paid monthly or annual subscription required for parents and learners (pricing not specified).
Pricing tiersSpeak Premium free · Speak Premium Plus freeFor Teachers free
Model stackChatGPT · GPT models · GPT-4 · GPT-4 (OpenAI partnership) · GPT-5 · OpenAI models · WhisperGPT-4 · GPT-5
Context window——
Public API
Routes models
Changes / 30d114
OriginUnited StatesUnited States
CapabilitiesSpeech recognition, Open conversation, Pronunciation scoring, Curriculum paths, AI conversation practice, real-time pronunciation feedback, personalized lessons, Speak Tutor AISocratic tutoring, Teacher tools, Writing coach, District rollout, Teaching Assistant, AI Tutor, Lesson Planning, Rubric Generator

Speak

Speech-first tutor for open-ended conversation practice, strongest in Korea and Japan.

Full Speak record →
Compare up to four products →